Join Truck Conversion Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2016, 10:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default ac not working on the ref.

Just noticed i am running on gas, and i am pluged in. checked the breakers looked in the back for something and it looks the same, i have tryed the auto switch and the on off switch, so i need suggest on the best steps to trouble shoot the problem.

Sam
__________________

__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

Norcold fridge? Mine was a Norcold. There was a "mode" pushbutton. That would scroll through the different power options. You sure it's set to a/c? Assuming that it's set to a/c. I would open up the access panel on the outside behind the fridge. Be careful with those plastic clips. You turn them with a coin 90 degrees. Then carefully jiggle the panel out. You should be able to see the receptacle that the fridge is plugged into. Unplug the fridge and plug in a tester. If you don't have one you should buy one. At the home store. They are good to keep on hand. Has two amber lights and one red. Easy to plug in there. You should see two ambers lit and no red if it's wired properly and working. If you get no lights then go to the circuit breaker panel. Hopefully the one for the fridge is labeled. Take the panel cover off and use your volt/ohm meter to probe the terminal on that breaker to see if it's putting out roughly 120 volts. I've seen circuit breakers fail and the handle appears to be on. Yet no current is coming out of the breaker.
__________________

__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 02:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

any error codes? if not its probably not getting power.
is the 120vac power plug "live" (mine is outside under the vent cover iirc).

if its running on Propane then the 12vdc supply is probably fine (check that fuse too, but i doubt thats the problem).

turn it off & on (again) after waiting 20 or 30 seconds resets it (i usually end up having to do this when it switches to propane & doesnt start right away).

on my nor cold (841) iirc there is a fuse outside on the power board, which is behind the exterior vent cover, the power board is in a small white box w/ some connections in/out of it, pull that cover.

also if you've got a norcold these part/location & diagrams might help

Norcold Refrigerators | Parts | Thetford Corporation
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 02:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

Google Results - Norcold fridge won't run on ac voltage
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 06:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

I have one other thought. How do you know it's running on propane?
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default

I have a dometic ref.
The ref has a light for ac and propane, thats how i know
Dont think it works on 12 volt
Its side ways pic sorry
Ill try outside tomorrow and see what happen
Cut it off for a few minutes to see what happens.

Report tomorrow

Sam
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_6641-20160604_223213-3642689.jpg  
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 12:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

12v is required to operate the display and fire the burner, and for the interior light bulb.

If its running on propane 12vdc is being delivered.

It might be worth checking all the GFCI outlets to make sure they're not popped....its a long shot the the fridge 120vac outlet could be on a GFCI, although i doubt that.
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 10:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

Looks like it's set to "auto" in that picture? I'd first pop the access panel off outside and plug a tester into that receptacle. And don't plug into the other half of it. Unplug the fridge and plug your tester in where you unplug the fridge. I've seen where they only have the half of the receptacle hot.
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 01:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default

Got it done with a new fuse, just nevered looked hard enough for it. Thanks for everyone's help as always you guys come thru!
And my pad turns the images.....wrong

Sam
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_6691-20160606_115235-1881197381.jpg   tmp_6691-20160606_114940701263752.jpg  
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 01:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

Good deal.
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 01:42 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samcrimm View Post
Got it done with a new fuse, just nevered looked hard enough for it. Thanks for everyone's help as always you guys come thru!
And my pad turns the images.....wrong
I'm not familiar with dometic fridges, so was that (glass) fuse was on the power board outside?
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 12:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default update on the dometic

UPDATE!

The ac started .... Well it just didn't short out again. So the ref. Was not working on ac, I had been thinking why the fuse poped, and I should have look harder but guess I didn't need something to work on right now. So I had to find out why it was not cooling, and this is what I found! Got a new one ordered. I took the 120volt fuse out, The gas would not start, the gas valve worked but the started didnt. So to get the cold going I put the grill lighter in there and got it going. So Now I have to trouble shoot the igniter! The picture won't turn right on my pad

Sam
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_8280-20160608_0826531293043708.jpg  
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 04:41 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

I'm confused, is that the gas orifice thats all smoked (and melted)?

you might have too much gap on the sparker (or it may have rusted & broken to the point that it won't spark).
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default

That's the 120 volt heater that burned through, I ever messed with the gas, till I had to start using it and then for what ever reason it would not start only with my help and the grill lighter. Picture is of the other end (where the wires go),
looks like I could have burned down the house, but never smelled anything or noticed anything till I caught the gas lite on the Ref. That's when I got on here to ask my questions. Just another day in the life of RVing!

I have also messed with the pictures till I have given up, something with this samsung pad wont let the picture post as I have edited them. Sorry, I know what I am doing but it does not show here.

Sam



Quote:
Originally Posted by bushpilot View Post
I'm confused, is that the gas orifice thats all smoked (and melted)?

you might have too much gap on the sparker (or it may have rusted & broken to the point that it won't spark).
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_8280-IMG_20160608_083220-1536542851.jpg  
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:28 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 527
Default

wow. I can't believe it did all that before the fuse finally blew! I'd make sure you have the proper fuse size in there when you get it going again.
hot rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 09:10 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default

Yes it is and I checked the instructions and it was even the right one. 250 v 5A. Took a lot of burning thru before it shorted out.

sam





Quote:
Originally Posted by bushpilot View Post
I'm not familiar with dometic fridges, so was that (glass) fuse was on the power board outside?
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 12:42 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 361
Default

NEW UPDATE

Got the element out and the new one in. Hard as hell to get the old one out, just had to twist and push up and a hit with a hammer sometimes, the new one fell in. Hooked up the wires and put the fuse in and gas shut down and the ac started..... just have to monitor things today and make sure its working. Picture of the burned up unit and the wires.

Sam
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_1975-20160630_1134121770604155.jpg  
__________________

__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×