Join Truck Conversion Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2016, 09:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 351
Default ac not working on the ref.

Just noticed i am running on gas, and i am pluged in. checked the breakers looked in the back for something and it looks the same, i have tryed the auto switch and the on off switch, so i need suggest on the best steps to trouble shoot the problem.

Sam
__________________

__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 10:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,814
Default

Norcold fridge? Mine was a Norcold. There was a "mode" pushbutton. That would scroll through the different power options. You sure it's set to a/c? Assuming that it's set to a/c. I would open up the access panel on the outside behind the fridge. Be careful with those plastic clips. You turn them with a coin 90 degrees. Then carefully jiggle the panel out. You should be able to see the receptacle that the fridge is plugged into. Unplug the fridge and plug in a tester. If you don't have one you should buy one. At the home store. They are good to keep on hand. Has two amber lights and one red. Easy to plug in there. You should see two ambers lit and no red if it's wired properly and working. If you get no lights then go to the circuit breaker panel. Hopefully the one for the fridge is labeled. Take the panel cover off and use your volt/ohm meter to probe the terminal on that breaker to see if it's putting out roughly 120 volts. I've seen circuit breakers fail and the handle appears to be on. Yet no current is coming out of the breaker.
__________________

__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 01:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,404
Default

any error codes? if not its probably not getting power.
is the 120vac power plug "live" (mine is outside under the vent cover iirc).

if its running on Propane then the 12vdc supply is probably fine (check that fuse too, but i doubt thats the problem).

turn it off & on (again) after waiting 20 or 30 seconds resets it (i usually end up having to do this when it switches to propane & doesnt start right away).

on my nor cold (841) iirc there is a fuse outside on the power board, which is behind the exterior vent cover, the power board is in a small white box w/ some connections in/out of it, pull that cover.

also if you've got a norcold these part/location & diagrams might help

Norcold Refrigerators | Parts | Thetford Corporation
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 01:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,404
Default

Google Results - Norcold fridge won't run on ac voltage
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 05:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,814
Default

I have one other thought. How do you know it's running on propane?
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 10:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 351
Default

I have a dometic ref.
The ref has a light for ac and propane, thats how i know
Dont think it works on 12 volt
Its side ways pic sorry
Ill try outside tomorrow and see what happen
Cut it off for a few minutes to see what happens.

Report tomorrow

Sam
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_6641-20160604_223213-3642689.jpg  
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,404
Default

12v is required to operate the display and fire the burner, and for the interior light bulb.

If its running on propane 12vdc is being delivered.

It might be worth checking all the GFCI outlets to make sure they're not popped....its a long shot the the fridge 120vac outlet could be on a GFCI, although i doubt that.
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 09:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,814
Default

Looks like it's set to "auto" in that picture? I'd first pop the access panel off outside and plug a tester into that receptacle. And don't plug into the other half of it. Unplug the fridge and plug your tester in where you unplug the fridge. I've seen where they only have the half of the receptacle hot.
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
samcrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tullahoma
Posts: 351
Default

Got it done with a new fuse, just nevered looked hard enough for it. Thanks for everyone's help as always you guys come thru!
And my pad turns the images.....wrong

Sam
Attached Thumbnails
tmp_6691-20160606_115235-1881197381.jpg   tmp_6691-20160606_114940701263752.jpg  
__________________
2005 Renegade #1204 42 footer Columbia M3200CH-435,12 speed auto Cat 12 kw Genset, Roadtrip Mission in-mot Dish Network, Washer dryer combo, Jeep Liberty toad,1973 Cessna Skylane,1955 Chev 210 Belair survivor
samcrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,814
Default

Good deal.
__________________

__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.