Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 03-31-2021, 11:40 PM   #1

Default Fatbed on HDT

Awaiting delivery of 2119 Mack Anthem class 8 with 70" sleeper. I will be re registering it as non commercial. My plan is to lengthen the frame rails beyond axles 1-2', install a removable flatbed and haul my sandrail on truck chassie. Sand rail weight is 4,000 lbs. Then to install rear bulkhead with class V hitch to haul my bumper pull 28" toy hauler.
This will increase my "toy" hauler space and give me the ability to take 1-2 days trips without needing the trailer.

What I'm needing is guidance and help with ideas for the flatbed construction. I'm a competent mig welder and have built 2 untility trailers in the past. I'm just looking for ideas to make this a modular design so I can easily convert the truck back to it's original configuration if needed. Probably a metal frame with wooden deck to make removal lighter and easier, and bolting most substructures together instead of welding it as solid unit.

And help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Mack.jpg  

The Bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 04:07 PM   #2

I think just a standard "c" chanel perimetre frame with some "i" beam or angle iron cross bars would work spaced out every so many feet between the timber deck pieces.

So think big chanel flame each end fastebed to the frame rails, slid timbers into chanel, then slide in angle or i bean, more timbers, rinse/repeat till you cap the end at the length you want. So you basically end up with everything incased in those "c" chanels ...everything bolted together and then clamped to the rails.

6cuda6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 06:51 PM   #3

I have done this to my Peterbilt 387. It is listed for sale on this forum with pictures.