Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 02-12-2005, 07:00 AM   #1

Hello,

Just found this forum a couple of weeks ago and I'm still learning but I'm definitely interested in a truck conversion.

I realize the final tow rating and capabilities of truck depend on many variables: engine, axles, tires, weight of the conversion, etc.

What I'm looking for is a rough estimate to apply so I can narrow my search for a truck.

I consider the ability to maintain reasonable speed (55mph) up the grades found in southern California, Nevada, and Arizona almost a necessity. So it would be nice for a truck to have the torque, gearing, horsepower, and cooling necessary to accomplish this. My normal load will be a 13-15 thousand pound trailer with my max being 20k pounds.

I see quite a few conversions with engines in the 300 hp 800 torque range. What is a good estimate of their maximum towing capability?

For the trucks with 400 or more hp, how much can they reliably tow?

This forum has been a great source of information so far, if anyone has other sites or sources of information I would be interested in those as well.

Thanks,
Matt

Matt Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 06:56 PM   #2

When you get into this class of vehicle, you'll hit the LEGAL max before the physical limitations of the truck are reached. So check your local laws to know what you can do.

Gary Atsma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 09:14 PM   #3