Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 08-07-2009, 07:30 PM   #1

I would like to introduce myself. I have read pretty much everything on this forum in the last few months and I already owe a debt of gratitude to Warpath, Geofkaye, and many others.

I have already purchased my truck, a 2002 Mitusubishi Fuso FE-SP COE (Cab Over Engine) with a 4.9 liter direct injection turbo intercooled 4 cyl diesel rated at 175 HP. It has a 14 foot FRP (Fiberglass Reinforced Plywood) box on the back.

Let me back up and tell you something about where I am going with this, because my situation and goals are very different from what I gather is most common on this forum. I am 8 months into a two and a half year plan to go full time (no fixed residence). I am an engineer, and have worked hard and made good money and paid a ton of taxes all my life, but it is clear that I will never retire in anything like what most of you would call comfort. I am fed up with a system that has everyone from the top to the bottom digging around in my pocket for a handout, so I am hitting the road.

The truck will be my final home, and I really don’t need much, but it needs to be dead reliable, or at least repairable. I am not looking to impress anyone, or entertain guests or clients, or heaven forbid show girls (ask Geofkaye). My adult son might joint me, his choice, but that’s it. I need to keep a low profile and keep expenses way down, which means I want to be able to park for the night anywhere that doesn’t bother anyone, and not have anyone bother me. For all those reasons, my “Truck Conversion” when completed, will look as much as possible like an unconverted delivery truck.