Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 01-04-2013, 11:11 PM   #1

Default Project Ice Cream - toter build

So I've been talking about this project for a couple of years now here on the forum in posts on other threads, and I've finally put welder to steel and got the project underway.

Just a brief summary to start: I was in need of a larger truck to replace my Chevy dually to tow my 40' race/living quarters trailer that I use for my business. At up to 23000# trailer weight at times I was of course far exceeding the gvw of the poor old Chevy dually. The original plan was to find a medium duty chassis and convert it to a full on legal rv toterhome to pull the trailer and skate the d.o.t. with rv registration. Time and money kept that project start in check, and in the meantime I ended up having to go the legal usdot/cdl route for the business anyway so I no longer really need the full rv conversion (have living quarters in trailer already) so I have scaled back the project to something more on the order of a toter like the fifth wheel rv guys use for their big trailers. I will still have a full toter style bed, but with a scaled down box outfitted with a backseat area, a storage area big enough to haul a motorcycle if I want to, and under box storage doors. And taking a cue from blizzardnd, I am keeping it to a height which will fit inside my 9'6" shop door to make it easy to work on. The original plan was full height with a bunk over the cab, but without the living quarters I can do without the head room and my ass is too old to lay outside under the truck to work on it if needed. This way it fits in the shop.