Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 04-08-2015, 03:19 PM   #1

Default New to all this - Class 8 Hauler

Hello everyone, I am very new to all this. I've lurked on here for quite a long time and finally pulled the trigger and purchased a truck to start on. 1999 Sterling with a 3406e Cat, and a 10speed. I drove 1800 miles home and got 9.2 mpg, I'm very pleased about that. I want to have a 14-16 foot garage and the rest sleeping accommodations for my family (6 of us ). we enjoy the sport of offroading and have a 36' bumper-pull trailer that I plan to carry the other two vehicles we use on.
Attached Thumbnails
Sterling passenger side.jpg   Sterling driver side.jpg  

TURNEROFFROAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 06:03 PM   #2

I am very interested to see your set up. I have an international 7500 expeditor truck single. I also go to the desert a lot so I want to see how you set yours up. Mine is 39' just rig so I am limited to a 26' trailer here in CA.

Hobbyiest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 09:29 AM   #3

Sounds like a cool project! Do you plan to drop the garage below the frame or keep it above frame height? What will your overall length be?
asitool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 01:43 PM   #4

How long is the box on that? Are you planning on just sleeping quarters, or are you planning a kitchen/bathroom/etc as well? What are you planning to put in the garage?
What trans is in it? Super 10?
maveric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 02:14 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by maveric View Post
How long is the box on that? Are you planning on just sleeping quarters, or are you planning a kitchen/bathroom/etc as well? What are you planning to put in the garage?
What trans is in it? Super 10?