Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 01-04-2012, 02:46 PM   #1

Default '55 Chev 1 ton Toter help

I recently acquired a 1955 Chevrolet 3800 (1 ton) toter with a 91" wheelbase and duals. General Motors told me it must have been converted somewhere because they never made one. Can anyone help me with information about such a vehicle? Anyone out there have anything similar? I know that the Whattoff Motor Company in Ames, Iowa started making conversions like this in the mid 40's but mostly with Studebakers. Anything would help. How unique is my truck?

BobbyHono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 04:40 PM   #2

Sounds like a cool truck. I always wanted to build something with an old chevy body like that.

I have some small knowledge of those from poking around at swap meets and such. Take it for what it is worth, you get what you pay for. lol. The 3800 would have been the equivalent of today's 3500 1 ton truck. I have seen them with a longbed stepside single wheel configuration with a 16.5 split rim as well as a dually cab chassis with a 20" split rim which is more equivalent of a ton and a half truck. They share the cab, doors, interior and hood with the 3100 1/2 ton truck. Grills, bumpers, fenders and steps vary. The basic 3800 I've seen had a grill just a little longer than the 3100 (I can't remember whether there was one more bar, or the bars were wider) as the cab sits a little higher and the longer grill filled in the gap to the bumper. Unless you have a good eye you don't really notice the difference unless they are side by side. The ton and a half variety has a much longer grill, different bumper and longer steps that drop farther down from the cab as the cab sits a lot higher than the 3100.