Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 05-07-2015, 06:08 AM   #1

Default Truck alternator charging house batteries

I have a question about using the alternator to charge house batteries while driving or running the engine. I have a 2004 renegade with the Mercedes 450/12spd. I am wanting to run a jumper wire from my truck batteries to the house batteries.,I am wanting to hook it to a switch so it can be shut off. I think it would be handy to have if you ran down the house batteries, you could use it to start the generator or vice versa to jump off the truck if e truck batteries get weak.

I have a master shut off switch for the truck batteries just inside the door under the driver seat and would mount another just like it for between the truck and house batteries. Do you think the alternator could handle this? I would use 1/0 wire to handle the load.

Thanks
Eric

Bottomland4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 11:28 AM   #2

I've been using the Magnum smart battery combiner ME-SBC. It's fully automatic so
you can set the cut off point so you don't drain them both down. I set the low cut
off so when it isn't charging it's separate. This way while driving it's charging both
or when plugged in the charging of the house batteries charges the starting batteries.
It will transfer 25A so the wiring isn't that heavy. This won't charge things the fastest
but shouldn't overload anything.

On a separate note I have our generator tied into the starting batteries so it is easy
to start even if the house batteries are low. That was always a challenge to start
our generator in our 5th wheel when the batteries were low. Now I never have to
worry about our house batteries being so low that we can't start the generator.

Doug Ambrisko is offline   Reply With Quote