Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 01-28-2012, 09:31 AM   #1

Default Toyota Uhaul conversion

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the forum. Before posting I did a search and couldn't find any posts related to the mini that I'm going to convert.

Mine looks like this:

http://stonerradiator.com/images/dsc00667.jpg

One immediate question is about insulating. The roof is aluminum with hollow ribs. Leaving the ribs empty will make conductive paths for heat/cold. It seems like spray foam is going to be the easiest solution. How far will the spray foam move laterally in the ribs? Will I have to drill access holes and spray right and left? I remember watching foam being injected into a couple of houses many years ago. It seems like the same process. Any other ideas?

I've got all sorts of ideas that will go into the design. Before I get going I'm trying to see if anyone else has done up a Toy Box.

Thanks!

Tom

treeview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:40 AM   #2

Is the inside open or closed with some kind of sheeting? If it covered with sheeting, I'd carefully remove it, store it, put your wiring and plumbing and anything else you want in the walls and ceiling, have the insultation sprayed in, and replace the sheeting.

Started looking for 379 Peterbilt TC, 24' to 30' box, bumper pull--but ended up w/1999 Liberty Coach conversion of 45' Prevost XLV bus. 1,000sf heated/AC'd race shop w/dump station, 50amp shore pwr where bus parks, 3 NASCAR/ARCA race cars & 26' Bravo trailer.
#90-GTSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:54 AM   #3