Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 03-17-2017, 08:03 AM   #1

Default How big of a Garage should I build

Hi Guys,

Im new to this fourm. We curently oun a 36' super C. We are looking to up grade to a conversion. We live in Southern California so the sun is our worst enemy. I am in the planning process of building an RV storage garage and stuck on how big to build it. My 1st design had the building at 18 wide by 55 long. Door at 12 wide by 13 high. The contractor says that is over kill. Any advice would be great.

Thank You
Steve

stndinup1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 12:11 PM   #2

Ha! Southern California... I would say city building permits are your worst enemy! I'm just kidding... sort of... I would put the door height at 14' (that's what our shop is) because the legal limit (in many states) is 13'6, and things can happen to cause you to be over that... (air bag valve, entering at an up/down angle, jacking up the rig under the door when you have other stuff in the shop... whatever).

The 12' width door is standard, and unless you have a straight shot at the door, you still have to watch what you're doing with mirrors, etc on on a 40' conversion.