Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Truck Conversion & Toterhome Community > Truck Conversion Talk > Truck Conversion General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 03-07-2009, 09:11 PM   #1

I've been admiring truck conversions for many years and longing for one. We bought a '92 Allegro 32' class A gas Chev powered unit in '04 to see how the motorhome lifestyle suits us. We've loved it. So, with the economy where it is now I decided now might be a good time to buy one. I've been searching for the perfect rig for a bit now. Just bought it yesterday. Found it at Wright-Way Trailers (www.wrightwaytrailers.com) in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. It's an '03 Freightliner FL112 chassis, single screw, Caterpiller C12 with Eaton 10 speed autoshift. United Specialties Trendsetter conversion, 26' box, 8kw Onan deisel genset, two roof airs, one slide for the living room sofa. Lots of nice features. The truck was made into a truck conversion when it was brand new in '03 so it was never used as a commercial truck. It's only got 53,xxx miles on it. It looks like brand new, inside and out. We're very very excited. We took it for a test drive and wow does this thing haul aXX. Now I'm in the club, aren't I?

Old 03-07-2009, 09:21 PM   #2

...IF YOU ARE HAPPY-WE ARE HAPPY!....CONGRATULATIONS......[NOW GET OUT THERE AND TRAVEL]!......geofkaye

geofkaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 09:33 AM   #3

Bob,
Congratulations on your new rig.

We went through the same process with the trial purchase of a gas RV to check out the fun factor of RVing. We liked it and worked for about 3 years to design, find our base truck and build our HDT Conversion.

Our final specs are similar to your too.