View Single Post
Old 08-14-2014, 04:30 PM   #1
mustang_gt_350

Default Newb pointers on selecting truck

Alright guys. I'm completely new to motor home building world, and to big trucks for that matter. I'm very mechanically inclined, I just lack Rig experience.

First off here is what I'm looking to do and maybe you can point me in the correct direction on truck/trailer/ building needs.

I'm into local truck pulling, and need something that can transport 2 pullers once i get my puller built (currently only pulling the girlfriends puller with my 3/4 truck) Once Mine is finished i will either have to make 2 trips, or build something that i can keep from paying a TON of $ for PA registration. So the total weight of each truck will never exceed 8,000lbs Hers is 6200, and mine would be either 8000, or 6200. Plus a few tools and the normal carry with you stuff. I don't need to take my entire tool box with me since this isn't a high end curcuit and i'm usually no more than 50 miles from home (so far thats the largest distance)

I have located a 1975 ford 8000 dump. If no one is familliar its a tandem axle dump bed truck. It has a 3208 cat (v636 i beleive) with a fuller roadranger 18sp trans. I can possibly pick this up for around 2-3k from the talking i have done to the seller, but I'm unsure on if this would work well for what i'm planning on doing? Thoughts, pics, suggestions and so on are very appreciated. I know the 3208 isn't a widely sought engine but i'm not expecting to run long highway distances, or set and land speed records. I'm just looking for somthing that would work, and that i can spend the night in and hit another pull the next day in the same area. Also what kind of MPG should i expect with that engine/trans combo? Also I'm not sure how long the bed is. I was thinking maybe i could extend the cab with the small camper and still have room for a flatbed for one truck to ride on?