View Single Post
Old 04-25-2006, 04:37 PM   #1
truckguy

Hi People. I'v been lurking here for a few days, trying to piece everything together in my mind for converting a HDT into a motorhome for RV travelling. I've got a ton of questions...

A bit myself first... we presently have a 32' 5er we pull with a 2000 Ford F250SD diesel. We just returned from a 3000 mile trip to Sacramento. The combo works pretty well, but we found the truck to ride quite rough on the California roads. Fuel stops were a headache too. The tank on the Ford is small. Power was adequate but not plentiful. Fuel economy was 11 MPG or so. A bathroom and room for the kids to move a bit while travelling would be great.

The 5er is a nice size and we are pretty comfortable in it, but I find they need a lot of maintenance. They aren't designed the best. Everything is sort of too light and hard to work on.

I am very mechanically inclined. I've built a lot of stuff in the past. I am a good welder, but body work is not my forte. I'm good at wiring and plumbing. Woodwork is not my thing either.

I've driven medium duty tandem trucks with 10 and 13 speed transmissions, but only for a few days and that was 10 years ago. I have my air brake ticket, but I'm rusty. I've never ridden or driven a class 8 truck and the medium duty trucks I was driving (International and Mack) weren't in the best shape.

I've looked at motor homes and they look like high maintenance to me as well. Like a 5er with a drivetrain. They don't seem to be very big inside either and only the expensive ones have an 11 or 12 litre engine. Most of the floor plans are for retirees, not families. And I don't like the auto transmissions either. Kills MPG and something more to break.