View Single Post
Old 08-26-2009, 06:17 PM   #55
Ran D. St. Clair

Refrigerators leave me cold…

At this point I still had lots of choices like whether to use an AC, 12V DC, or a propane refrigerator.

My first assumption was that I would be using a conventional propane refrigerator of the sort that is most often used in RV’s. They are, after all, made for just that purpose, and there must be some good reasons why they are so common. My research suggested that they are quite efficient, using between 1.5 and 2 gallons of Propane per week. I am not sure if I trust those figures though, especially when my son is standing in front of the thing with the door open trying to figure out what he wants.

As I studied the literature more deeply I became concerned about their heat carrying capacity. They warned of having to wait a long time for things to get cold, and even suggested waiting until after it was cold to put the food in.

I read the owners and installation manuals and while nothing about it looked terribly difficult, I wasn’t entirely happy with it either. For one thing there is the whole issue of piping propane into the living quarters. Now I will say up front that I fully intend to use a propane range, a propane heater, and possibly even a propane toilet, so having propane for the refrigerator is not much of a stretch. There are, however, some differences. The range would only be used intermittently and when I am there to keep an eye on it. The propane heater might be on a thermostat and might be on intermittently all night long, or possibly even when I am not there, so it is more similar. Regardless, I fully intend to have a smoke alarm, propane gas detector, low oxygen detector, fire extinguisher, and whatever other safety gear I can think of.