View Single Post
Old 08-19-2009, 06:04 PM   #34
Ran D. St. Clair

Warning – Discussion of electrical systems can be dangerous (To your wallet)

Lets talk about the electrical systems. This is theory and philosophy mind you, since I haven’t actually built it yet. I am an electronics engineer, so I at least know ohms law, but I am not an electrician, though I do at least know the difference between ground, neutral, and hot. I will try not to lead anyone astray with mis-information. I have read “Managing 12 Volts” by Harold Barre and I recommend the book.

My project requires that I be able to operate independent of the grid (shore power) indefinitely, though I may have access to the grid at times. I realize that is very different from what many of you are doing, so it drives a different approach. I also have a bent towards efficiency. It’s not some green save the whales thing, it’s just my nature.

It seems to me that there are four kinds of electrical power that I need to handle and distribute:

1. 12V DC (Direct Current) related to the truck starting battery
2. 12V DC related to the house batteries.
3. 110V AC (Alternating Current) from the on board generator, or shore power if available.
4. 110V AC derived from the house batteries via an inverter.

I realize that many of you will have a shorter list. You may not feel the need for an inverter, or even batteries beyond the starting battery. You may only have 110V AC (AKA 115V or 120V AC) and not even use 12V DC beyond the cigarette lighter in the cab. Certainly you probably only have AC wiring in your fixed base home.