Truck Conversion & Toterhome Community

Truck Conversion & Toterhome Community (https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/)
-   Building Your Own (https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/f97/)
-   -   Silkaflex 252 (https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/f97/silkaflex-252-a-5983/)

mmmc101 02-07-2011 03:13 PM

Silkaflex 252

I am ready to install the .050 alum on the front of my box.(before I put the box back on the truck) What surface prep is required to get the proper bond using Silkaflex 252 ? The framework is primered. Does that need to be stripped ? Are there any tricks to using this stuff or tips I need to know ? I have never used any adhesive before,only screws. I still plan on screws at the seams. Does that need to be glued as well ? Any input would will be appreciated.
MMM

Bob86ZZ4 02-07-2011 05:10 PM

I'm not sure if you need to screw too. My truck is made using all dlued panels, no screws. I found this: Sika Sikaflex-252 One Part Polyurethane Adhesive White 10.5OZ - Sika Corp. - SEALANT

Maybe that might help?

Bob E 02-07-2011 11:02 PM

The outer skins on my truck are .050 alum & originally installed with 3M VHB bonding tape with no screws or rivits.. Before I started on the interior, I had a couple seams come loose. I bought a pneumatic calk gun & 18 tubes of sikaflex 262 and forced it betweeen the sides of the (structure) square tubing & the aluminum skins, then used my finger to further force it into space (btwn the sq tubing & skin)
I've not had any further problems.
Prior to applying the sikaflex to the structure of the truck, I took a piece of scrap tubing & aluminum skin and laid a 1/2" X .040" ribbon of sikaflex ibetween them. A day later, I couldn't pull the alum skin loose without destroying it. If I were to do another conversion, I would definately use sikaflex. I believe it would hold better than anything else but still allow for expansion & contraction of the outer skins, as it remains somewhat flexable even after it has cured.