Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 03-01-2017, 01:23 AM   #1

Default RV Toter/newbie question

For the past few months I have been considering building an RV hauler out of a single axle tractor day cab. My plan is to do a bolt-on sleeper and an air ride 5th wheel hitch. I still have some connections in the trucking bizz and I can get a good deal on used day cab. I was a heavy truck mechanic and still have my class A CDL, so any work it may need doesn't concern me. The BIG problems that has stop me dead in tracks is registering the truck and finding affordable insurance. Here in the communist state of Maryland where I live they told me i would have to register the truck as "commercial" and my insurance agent looked at me like i was a space alien when I asked her about insuring a tractor/RV hauler. So my question is how are you guys getting around all of these problems. I know there has to be some way around these issues, but not knowing can cost me big $$$.

fresh fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 01:43 AM   #2

Check out this site. Home | Heavy Haulers RV Resource Guide

and this forum

HDT - Escapees Discussion Forum

Old 03-01-2017, 11:50 PM   #3

Thanks Porky, I can see by reading the post you sent, this is going to be one big headache. I hope someone here is from MD and give a more concise answer about all of the steps. In the post, I think the guy said he was from MO, the DMV issued him another VIN plate and changed the classification on the title. I hope that I will not have to deal with that. Thanks again.
Old 03-05-2017, 01:44 PM   #4

Hate Maryland! (I used to live/work in DC/Md/Va area).

you could always form and LLC in Montana or (one of) the Dakota's...there are law firms that do this for a few 100 bucks.