Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 09-08-2011, 03:30 PM   #1

Default In the design stages

I am just working on starting the design of my toterhome conversion. I started modeling my framework up so i can keep an eye on what it is going to weigh. I will be putting at least one slideout in it, so i am hoping i can get a solid model from the mfg to put it into my model. The box will be going on a 87 Freighliner FLD-120. I will post up some pictures of the truck when i get a chance. This will be my first project of this size, the framework so far is 3" Sq. .120" wall thickness for the floor frame, and 2"sq for the wall and ceiling. I am open for suggestions or things to watch out for on this project. Like i said i am just getting started designing.

levig14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 06:38 PM   #2

I am getting ready to do the same project. Were did you get your design program from?

willie677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 01:57 AM   #3

What are your measurements ?
gochenour 799 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 07:18 AM   #4

I am a mechanical design engineer by trade, so the software is what i use at work. It is Solid Edge, and is very pricey.

The box is 18 feet long, 102" wide, 91" Inside height.

I will be using the truck to pull a 36' Fifth Wheel car trailer pulling a dirt modified racecar.
Old 09-09-2011, 04:19 PM   #5

Can you keep posting your design pictures. that would help me alot with my box build and what materials you are using for the frame.
willie677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:38 PM   #6

Great looking design from your program. I am jealous.