Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 08-27-2008, 09:52 AM   #1

Found this site and need some help on my Retirement plan for next year.

I'm looking for a 2003 or newer International 4300 (Crew cab preferably) to convert to a hauler for a 39' 20K Teton home for a 1-yr USA trip. The hauler would be used for "boondocking" also so I would need room for 2 side boxes which could hold 150 gal. of potable water each. and a LP generator w/2-40#tanks

King pin wt. of trailer would be about 6K or less, the cab would require quality creature comforts for my "Honey"...cause if honey ain't happy I ain't goin to be happy.........
so loking for International conversion outfiters at a reasonable price...

Snowman8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 10:35 AM   #2

Snowman,
I am far from a professional, so take my advice with a grain of salt. that being said, I have a question. Why are you set on the 4300? I had my mind set on an International too, until I test drove a 4300 over a weekend. To there benefit they have: solid and quiet cab, good looking truck, the DT466 is solid, and the interior fit and finish was great. The thing I could not get past was the ride. I drove both air and spring ride 4300s and they shook the fillings out of my teeth. I don't know why, but the FL60 I ended up buying (spring ride) rides better than either of the 4300s. the freightliner is louder inside and not as pretty, but I can fix those things. I am not experienced enough to make a MDT ride smoother. Just interested.

One man's opinion,
Doc Weaver

Old 08-27-2008, 02:24 PM   #3

Hey Mr. Weaver.....

I actually have been looking at Freightliners before I took a look at the Internationals. I haven't ruled out the FL-60's, depends on what I can find for the right price.