Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 09-30-2015, 06:34 PM   #1

Default I know what I want

Greetings all,

I'm just getting into the process of trying to see how I can get HDT to pull a 5th wheel. I'm about 5yrs from retirement and would like to RV full time. I've found what I want and have determined which state I can register it in as a private truck rather than a commercial vehicle, but the insurance is killing me. The only broker I could get a quote from would charge me 250 a month just for the truck. I need some advise on where to look for insurance that won't be as much as car payment.

Thanks,
BP

Gofurs22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 08:01 PM   #2

i was w/ bluesky - but Texas' insurance commission allowed everyone to jack the rates.
i moved to Allstate (where we have the cars/motorcycle) - i think we pay about 900 a year for 100k value.

bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 06:26 AM   #3

I am using American Family. I pay $480 for the year. The only problem I am having right now is they are only insuring it for the value of the tractor that it originally was. I am pretty far through my conversion now and would like it insured for more than the tractor but require to have it appraised. I haven't figured out who can appraise this thing yet? Not sure who your conversion was done by but make sure its insured for what you paid.
superbird03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 09:22 AM   #4

I have a Farm Bureau and they only go by NADA.... not good, I am shopping now for an agreed value, I have that on my old cars, and the price is not bad! I am going to try State Farm and see what happens.

Sam