Truck Conversion & Toterhome Community

Truck Conversion & Toterhome Community (https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/)
-   Hi, I am.... (https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/f116/)
-   -   I know what I want (https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/f116/i-know-what-i-want-7470/)

Gofurs22 09-30-2015 06:34 PM

I know what I want

Greetings all,

I'm just getting into the process of trying to see how I can get HDT to pull a 5th wheel. I'm about 5yrs from retirement and would like to RV full time. I've found what I want and have determined which state I can register it in as a private truck rather than a commercial vehicle, but the insurance is killing me. The only broker I could get a quote from would charge me 250 a month just for the truck. I need some advise on where to look for insurance that won't be as much as car payment.

Thanks,
BP

bushpilot 09-30-2015 08:01 PM

i was w/ bluesky - but Texas' insurance commission allowed everyone to jack the rates.
i moved to Allstate (where we have the cars/motorcycle) - i think we pay about 900 a year for 100k value.

superbird03 10-01-2015 06:26 AM

I am using American Family. I pay $480 for the year. The only problem I am having right now is they are only insuring it for the value of the tractor that it originally was. I am pretty far through my conversion now and would like it insured for more than the tractor but require to have it appraised. I haven't figured out who can appraise this thing yet? Not sure who your conversion was done by but make sure its insured for what you paid.

samcrimm 10-01-2015 09:22 AM

I have a Farm Bureau and they only go by NADA.... not good, I am shopping now for an agreed value, I have that on my old cars, and the price is not bad! I am going to try State Farm and see what happens.

Sam

Gofurs22 10-01-2015 01:35 PM