Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 11-10-2006, 07:17 AM   #1

Any concerns by owners of diesel rigs with new fuel in 2007?
With the older engines and less internal lubricants in fuel will this harm engine? Will new fuel have any effect on gaskets and seals?
Any effects on engines that will be driven less than 10,000 miles per year?

I would appreciate other view points because I am no mechanical engineer or diesel guru..
Ken

Ken1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 01:58 PM   #2

My guess is no. They cant make a new fuel thats going to harm older engines, cuz lets face it. 98% of people are going to keep their pre 2007 trucks to save themselves a shit load of money on that new tax.

Matt295 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 06:50 PM   #3

would suggest a good brand of diesel fuel additive such as "lucas" or "Cen-Pe-Co" etc....

I don't have many years experience yet but I have been working with Diesels for some time (my brother kind of started it with getting in to WVO)**,also my dad is in to selling "Cen-Pe-Co" products and they give a bunch of info on the new fuel and yes is does harm to the older engines with more mechanical parts(mostly injector pumps)

I've got an Isuzu NPR that we use for my dads business and it's only got a 3.9L 4cyl and it's easy to tell a very little bit in HP loss or gain, and he said on his last trip that he forgot to put fuel additive in for the 12gal that he topped it off with(in a 30gal tank)
he could tell that it was lacking HP!!