Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 06-20-2005, 01:03 AM   #1

Hello,

I recently bought a truck with a 9 speed transmission. I am new to this type of trannys and am learning how to drive it smoothly.

But, I am having a big problem with initial startups. I usually get the engine started and wait until the air pressure is up to normal operation conditions.

Then, I press the clutch all the way down to engage the clutch brake and try to put it into gear. Whenever I do that, the tranny starts grinding and the grinding comes to a stop. Then, I could put the transmission into gear.

I think there might be something wrong with my transmission. Is this normal or is some part worn out (clutch brake perhaps)?

I would really appreciate any opinions. Thanks
Old 06-20-2005, 07:56 AM   #2

Your clutch brake isn't engaging. Check to see how much free play you have at the top of the clutch pedal. If the clutch pedal moves more than an inch without disengaging the clutch, combined with no clutch brake, tells me the clutch needs to be adjusted.

James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 09:56 PM   #3

Thanks for your reply.

I went to check the free play and it is about an inch. I found that the inspection cover was missing and a lot of dirt went inside. I blew most of the dirt out by using a compressor but their is still some left in there.

What could be the cause of the grinding? Also, could I use a pressure washer to clean the clutch area or is this bad for the truck.
Old 06-28-2005, 11:09 AM   #4

Your clutch brake isn't engaging. Take the truck to a shop that handles big rig and have the adjustment checked.
Don't pressure wash. You don't want that much water inside the housing and it could push the dirt deeper in to parts where you don't want it.