Join Truck Conversion Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2012, 08:41 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default Pic: CB Radio

finally bit the bullet & installed a CB.

One of my requirements was that the CB had to have Weather Band capabilities.

I settled on the new Uniden 980ssb - its not a real powerful unit but its got some nice features (other than the annoying button beep, which turns out NOT to be so bad).

I dont expect to talk much on this thing - we really want it for "emergencies" and to figure out whats going on in traffic (back ups etc)...more than once we've been STOPPED in traffic and wondered how bad it was or how long the back up might be.

the nice thing about this uniden is that the weather bands can be set to "scan" and ALERT...so even if your in "CB" mode the Weather Radio will "ALARM" if there is a weather alert condition.

the Uniden 880 & 980(SSB) are smaller than most units (only 6 inches deep).

the PO of our coach had mounted the rear view monitor where ive mounted the cb (and driven some screws into the plate/blank) so i have (temporarily) used some automotive carpet to cover the screw hole/damage...i will likely recover it w/ some gray suede later.



more photos of the unit in the over head will follow.
__________________

__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

and here it is INSTALLED in the coach....



__________________

__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

Nice install. Where does the sound come from it then? Speaker on top of the unit facing up? Or do you use a seperate speaker?
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

the speaker in the cb radio provides the sound...the speaker is DOWN firing
immediately UNDER the cb, in the center of the "high" dash, is a grill....the grill covers
some of the "high-dash" plastic which has holes cut in it...so the cb's speaker is NOT obstructed.
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

Aha, good. I usually have my radio turned on and keep the squelch up pretty high so only real close stuff gets through. Mine has a cb/pa switch that's real easy to hit so if some dummie starts blubbering I can quickly slide it to the pa position and not have to hear junk. Then after a couple/few miles I switch it back to cb.
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

in this photo you can see the "speaker grill" under the high-center console...
the speaker for the CB lines up perfectly w/ some holes that are cut (from the factory)
just behind the grill/screen.

__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 114
Default

What does the CB/PA switch do? I have this on my old Cobra 29X
__________________
AndyG
1989 FLD120 with 2000 NRC conversion
andyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Camano Island, WA
Posts: 163
Default

Switches between CB radio and Public Address, works with a external speaker to annoy people of your choosing as you pass by...lol
Dragonslayer140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

It also instantly shuts off the cb coming through the speaker. So if some idiot starts yelling or something it is a lot quicker and easier to shut them off than spinning the volume knob down. Then after I've driven a mile or two I switch it back to cb.
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:22 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
#90-GTSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grafton
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonslayer140 View Post
Switches between CB radio and Public Address, works with a external speaker to annoy people of your choosing as you pass by...lol
For you guys that have both ... what is more effective than using the PA feature with a powerful outside speaker? Or a compressed air operated train horn?
__________________
Started looking for 379 Peterbilt TC, 24' to 30' box, bumper pull--but ended up w/1999 Liberty Coach conversion of 45' Prevost XLV bus. 1,000sf heated/AC'd race shop w/dump station, 50amp shore pwr where bus parks, 3 NASCAR/ARCA race cars & 26' Bravo trailer.
#90-GTSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rockford
Posts: 490
Default

what kind of a back of backup camera do you have? do you have more than one camera that you can switch back and forth from?
volvoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:34 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by volvoman View Post
what kind of a back of backup camera do you have? do you have more than one camera that you can switch back and forth from?
I do...cant remember the brand (its ok)...allows for 4 inputs, 3 cams & a composite video.

i run TWO cams, one down low so i can see the status of the hitch/ball and trailer connections & one up high on the tip/rear so i can see traffic behind the jeep/trailer etc.
__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:24 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,815
Default

Train air horn, no comparison.
__________________
'03 Freightliner FL112, 295" wheel base, with '03 United Specialties 26' living quarters, single screw, Cat C12 430 h/p 1650 torque, Eaton 10speed , 3.42 rear axle ratio
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:19 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
bushpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tomball
Posts: 1,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by volvoman View Post
what kind of a back of backup camera do you have? do you have more than one camera that you can switch back and forth from?
heres a couple of pics of my different cam views...
one is on top/rear of the coach, the other is lower, above the hitch.

my system is made by zone defense...i wouldnt have bought it...it was already in the coach.
i will say their cameras are VERY good (no moisture leaks etc).

i would probably buy a system w/ more than 4 inputs and one that could do SPLIT screen (more than one camera view at the same time)

the words "cam 1" or "cam 2" only display BRIEFLY when switching from one camera input to another.



__________________

__________________
Don R.
'04 Haulmark (M42386) 42', 2 slide, 10kw - Pictures
'04 F350 CrewCab Longbed 4x4, 50g aux tank & gear vendors dbl over
bushpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×