Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Join Truck Conversion Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 02-13-2006, 05:29 PM   #1

I'm new to da truck conversion thing but know my way around bus conv's fairly well however,... feel like a novice again. We are changing direction from an MCI-9 to (most likely) to a Century or Columbia if I can find something reasonable so, here goes! Questions: Where is a a good source(s) to locate a tractor? I'm in OKC but can travel in any direction for a good buy. Is anyone close to OKC(?) I would like to see a shell under construction, ask a million questions, & get ideas. Appreciate any & all suggestions,...will likely have lots more questions.

Bob E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 11:16 AM   #2

Bob,
Go to a freightliner dealer and take a look at the "Select Trucks". Usually 3 year old trucks that will have a warranty and are great for this type of thing. Usually have many to choose from. Then feel free to contact the various builders that are listed on this site and setup a time to go and tour the manufacturer's facility. You can plan to do 3 or 4 of the manufacturers on the same day and then once you have seen how they all do it. Start narrowing the list down based on what you discover on the visits. Then ask lots of questions here. We would all be glad to help you in the process.
Wick

Wick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 05:49 PM   #3

Bob, wick is right on that. Ask Freightliner Select Trucks dealer about the reconfigured day cab program. Freightliner takes condo sleeper trucks off lease and converts them to day cabs. You decide which parts to replace or upgrade- you decide which color to paint. Interiors are new and warranties are available. You can also order as a truck and save removing the fifth wheel hitch. I've seen nice trucks with autoshift trans from $34,000 to $40,000.