Join Truck Conversion Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 06:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 738
Default

Wondering if a converion owner with a slideout puts it in the out position...if it were to get stuck for whatever reason, electrical failure, motor failure...can you manually get them to go back inside by pulling out a big wrench and turning it so the slideout goes back inside?

Do they build slideouts in electric only or can you order a manual version?

Electric is nice, but when it fails, you can be placed in a difficult situation.
__________________

__________________
"I have marveled often at the thin line that divides success from failure and the sudden turn that leads from apparently certain disaster to comparative safety." Ernest Shackleton, Antarctic Explorer, Sea and Land, 1874-1922.
BravestDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 04:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canton, GA, USA
Posts: 191
Default

Yep, at least you can on my Showhauler, there's a long crank handle in a compartment and a small hole on the opposite side of the slide it fits in like a screw jack.
__________________

__________________
Sean P. Clarke
WERA Motorcycle Roadracing
WERA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 07:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 738
Default

Sean

How many holes are there for the wrench?

Is it one hole only, two, three...?

Have you ever worked yours manually, to see how it would work?
__________________
"I have marveled often at the thin line that divides success from failure and the sudden turn that leads from apparently certain disaster to comparative safety." Ernest Shackleton, Antarctic Explorer, Sea and Land, 1874-1922.
BravestDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 08:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 262
Default

ours has one hole with a crank
Camping Dutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 01:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canton, GA, USA
Posts: 191
Default

One hole on mine and I've never tried it. I figure what I don't know won't hurt me until I absolutely have to find out
__________________
Sean P. Clarke
WERA Motorcycle Roadracing
WERA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 07:37 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Default

our slideout on our showhauler broke and we have been cranking it for 2 weeks now. No big deal really. flick the power switch off and crank it in or out. Done.
Matt295 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 11:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 768
Default

Hey Matt,

I am sure you checked, but I'll throw it out anyway. Did you check for a blown fuse?

My slide stopped working and after checking with Show Hauler found a long lost fuse panel in the generator bay for the slide motor.
__________________
2012 Showhauler 28'6" Motorhome on a Columbia w/ 450 Mercedes.
Warpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 07:39 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Default

yeah, the wires are cut. It is visible. Tried to fix it, went to replace the fuse and it blew instantly, so something is shorting it out.
__________________

Matt295 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×