View Single Post
Old 05-20-2009, 12:58 PM   #1
BravestDog

This guy seems real happy with how his conversion was built by Transport Designs. He compares it to a Renegade.

"As You can see, the Peterbilt I am selling is not just another run of the mill Renegade on a Freightliner chasis. Look at the build here and then look at mine-(red). My stainless is thicker, and the build-both inside and out, is more solid. My Pete is like a mini-custom moter coach on the inside, a better upgrade from the camper style that Renegade builds. Mine has tinted double pane windows, sound insulation and solid wood floors as well as oak throughout."

Then he says his Pete is superior to a Freightliner:

"Even if the Renegade build was great-which it is not because it is inferior to my build, the chassis is Freightliner-(junk). Believe me, I have been a professional truck driver for over 25 years, and after about 100,000 mile, which isn't much, the doors do not close tight, the windows leak air- and they become smelly and noisey. Freighliners are not built like Kenworths or Peterbilts-ask any truck driver. And when you add a custom RV to the frame, it creeks and squeeks. My Peterbilt is built with exceptional build-at the factory in a hand made fashion."

Does this statement sound accurate about the Freightliner compared to a Pete?

Here's the ebay link:http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors...C39%3A1%7C240%3A1309

Some questions for anyone:

1. What is a heat transfer roof? What does he mean by this: "Plus my roof is a cool heat transfer- not absorbing, sloped roof."

2. The add says sleeps 4. Would that be 2 above, one above the refigerator, one above the diner and one on the diner?

3. I wonder how the ventilation is without the generator running fans blowing in the bunks with a full house of guests...? Looks like there are only 2 windows on the side at the rear sleeping level so whomever is in the foward upper bunk is without windows/ventilation?